What's the difference between a hornet and a wasp?

Hornets are actually a type of wasp. While wasps all share a similar body plan (narrow waist with tapered abdomen), hornets are bigger than most wasps and they vary in color and markings. Wasps feed insects or carrion to their young. Hornets are of a type that brings live insects back to the nest.