How expensive are american girl dolls?

At $95 for a doll and paperback book, the American Girl doll is pricey, but parents are willing to spend a bit extra for a well-manufactured doll. "I think they're just really well made dolls," said Mandi Ehman, a mother of four girls who owned an American Girl doll herself as a child.