Why is north carolina called tarheels?

Tar Heel is a nickname applied to the U.S. state of North Carolina. The legend claims it to be a nickname given during the U.S. Civil War, because of the state's importance on the Confederate side, and the fact that the troops "stuck to their ranks like they had tar on their heels".