How is sparkling water made?

Sparkling water is carbonated. This can be from natural sources or from introducing carbon dioxide under pressure into the water the same way they carbonate soda. The carbonization stays in the water as long as the container maintains pressure. In free air the carbonization bubbles out making fizzy.