What does d. s. mean in volleyball?

Defensive Specialist. The defensive specialist (DS) is a player whose purpose is to play backrow for someone who mainly plays front row (usually a hitter). Because there can only be on libero per team, teams may have a DS or two to substitute for other front row players.