When was the carolina reaper discovered?

Ed Currie of the PuckerButt Pepper Company attained hot-pepper preeminence in 2013, when he debuted the Carolina Reaper, the hottest hot pepper at the time at up to 2.2 million Scoville Heat Units (SHU).