Can we go to the sun?

The sun is 93 million miles (about 150 million kilometers) awa and we don't have the technology to safely get astronauts to the sun and back yet. The sun's surface is about 6,000 Kelvin, which is 10,340 degrees Fahrenheit (5,726 degrees Celsius). The sun would melt anything that got near it.