What's the difference between a four oh one k. and a. four oh three b.?

Both are tax-leveraged retirement plans. 4 o 1 k is sponsored by an employing private-sector company, while 4 o 3 b plans are only open to employees of schools, churches, government agencies, and other tax-exempt organizations. 4 o 3 b investment options are usually more limited than 4 o 1 kays.