Why do we have to use airplane mode on airplanes?

FCC regulations ban the use of cell phones on planes in order to "protect against radio interference to cell phone networks on the ground." Meaning at 40,000 feet in the air, active cell phones would be picking up service from multiple cell towers on the ground.