What makes the leaves change color?

in the fall, because of changes in the length of daylight and changes in temperature, the leaves stop their food-making process. The chlorophyll breaks down, the green color disappears, and the yellow to orange colors become visible and give the leaves part of their fall splendor.

---

Fewer hours of sunlight cause a decrease in the production of chlorophyll that gives leaves their green color. Less chlorophyll allows the yellow, orange, red, and purple colors produced by carotenoids and anthocyanins in the leaves to become visible.