What are porcupine balls?

Porcupine Meatballs are a fun twist on a traditional meatball recipe.

---

Porcupine balls are meat balls made with meat and rice. They originated during the Great Depression when rice was cheap and meat was hard to come by. The women would mix the rice in with the beef to make the meal go a bit further and to hide the fact that there wasn't much beef.