Did york washington cut down a cherry tree?

The story of George Washington cutting down a Cherry tree is considered apocryphal, first accredited to his biographer, Mason Locke Weems, shortly after Washington's death. It was later confessed to be an American fable, to teach a moral, but not a factual account of Washington's childhood.