Who is the first person to discover australia?

The first European to land on Australia was Dutch Captain Willem Janszoon in 1606. Captain James Cook claimed the island for Great Britain in 1770.

---

James Cook was the first recorded explorer to land on the east coast in 1770. He had with him maps showing the north, west and south coasts based on the earlier Dutch exploration.