Why did japan attack philippines?

To prevent the use of the Philippines as an advance base of operations by American forces. To acquire staging areas and supply bases to enhance operations against the Dutch East Indies and Guam. To secure the lines of communication between occupied areas in the south and the Japanese Home Islands.