How long did it take to make minecraft?

The first version of Minecraft was created in just 6 days (from the 10th to the 16th of May, 2009), and released just a day later. Mojang AB (the company behind Minecraft) would periodically update and tweak the game until delivering what the company considered its full version on November 18, 2011.