What is a disclaimer trust?

A disclaimer trust is a type of trust that contains embedded provisions, usually in a will, allowing a surviving spouse to put specific assets under into trust by disclaiming ownership of a portion of the estate. Disclaimed property interests are then transferred to the trust, without being taxed