Is the movie roman j. israel based on a true story?

No. Roman J. Israel, Esq is a 2017 film written and directed by Dan Gilroy about a defense attorney whose life changes when his boss and mentor dies unexpectedly. Israel's legacy of activism gets put to the test when he takes on the case of a young man accused of murdering a convenience store clerk.