Why is a kitchen called a kitchen?

From the Latin verb coquere, , meaning “to cook,” came the later Latin noun coquina, meaning “a kitchen.” With some changes in pronunciation, coquina came into Old English as cycene. This became Middle English kichene and finally modern English kitchen.

---

The word kitchen, can be traced to the Latin verb coquere, meaning “to cook.” From coquere, came the later Latin noun, coquina, meaning “a kitchen.” With some changes in pronunciation, coquina came into Old English, as cycene. This became Middle English, kichene, and finally modern English, kitchen.