Why is a kitchen called a kitchen?

From the Latin verb coquere, , meaning “to cook,” came the later Latin noun coquina, meaning “a kitchen.” With some changes in pronunciation, coquina came into Old English as cycene. This became Middle English kichene and finally modern English kitchen.