How do you take bitterness out of brussel sprouts?

Sauteing brussel sprouts in a bit of brown sugar offsets bitterness. Sautee in olive oil to prevent sticking, and cook until just tender. Another trick is to add salt before cooking sprouts, which also reduces bitterness. Lemon juice can be added as well. Its sour flavor balances out bitter.