Who has a better sense of smell a dog or a cat?

Dogs. The average dog, whose snout holds between 149 million and 300 million smell receptors while cats have 45 million to 80 million receptors. Dog have a far better sense of smell. The human nose has about 5 million olfactory receptors, microscopic proteins that allow us to detect odors.