What happens if you eat baking soda?

Baking soda is sodium bicarbonate. Both sodium and bicarbonate can cause serious toxicity if too much is swallowed. Early after an ingestion of too much baking soda, vomiting and diarrhea are common. After absorption, high sodium concentrations can cause seizures, dehydration, and kidney failure.