Why are cats so flexible?

Cats are so flexible because of their high number of vertebrae, or individual spinal bone disks. Cats can spring up to nine times their height, and they can narrow their shoulders and chest to squeeze through tight spaces.

---

A cat's spine can rotate more than the spines of most other animals, and their vertebrae have a special, flexible, elastic cushioning on the disks, which gives it even more flexibility. Cats can jump from a seated position, nine times their height.