Why are there holes in cheese?

Since 1917 it was theorized that the gas from bacteria that are present during cheese production caused the holes in cheese to form. It wasn't until 2015 that another study conducted by a Swiss agricultural institute called Agroscope discovered tiny hay particles were responsible for the holes.