What's the difference between green muscles and black muscles?

Black mussels are smaller and have a black or dark gray shell. Green mussels have a light, mild flavor and a chewy texture. Black mussels are softer but boast a more intense seafood flavor. Both green and black mussels have a maximum shelf life of around seven to ten days in the refrigerator.