What's the difference between sanitize and disinfect?

Disinfecting uses chemicals to kill germs. While it doesn’t necessarily clean dirty surfaces or remove germs, it kills germs and can lower the risk of spreading infection. Sanitizing is removing and lowering numbers of germs to a safe level, as judged by public health standards.