What's the difference between sanitize and disinfect?

Sanitizing reduces the bacteria identified on the product's label on surfaces and in laundry. Disinfecting destroys or inactivates both the bacteria and viruses identified on the product's label (like influenza and rhinovirus) on hard, nonporous surfaces.