What is john adams the first president to live in the white house?

The 1814 fire, and rebuilding. On Saturday, November 1, 1800, John Adams became the first president to take residence in the building. The next day he wrote his wife Abigail: "I pray Heaven to bestow the best of blessings on this House, and all that shall here after inhabit it.