What's the difference between a philharmonic orchestra and a symphony?

“Symphony orchestra” is a generic term, whereas “philharmonic orchestra” is always part of a proper name. So, you can call every philharmonic a symphony, but you can't call every symphony a philharmonic—even though they're the same. At the end it's just 2 different terms for the same thing.