Are pickles supposed to float?

Pickles do float. However, it is typically less favorable for pickles to float, as they garner more exposure to air, which can lead to discoloration & shorter shelf life. As long as the seal is intact when buying or canning your pickles, don’t worry too much about any that seem to float in the jar.