What was the first source of oxygen for earth's atmosphere?

The first major source of oxygen is the "Great Oxidation Event", which began more than 2 billion years ago. This event is associated with the rise of ocean-dwelling blue-green algae, or cyanobacteria, which produce oxygen as a byproduct of photosynthesis. Geologic changes also contributed.