Is a nurse practitioner considered a doctor?

A doctor refers to an educational level degree. Some nurse practitioners may have earned a doctorate in nursing-but their scope of practice is different than a physician. Physicians are commonly known as doctors because they are required to earn doctorate level degrees in the medical field.