What weapons did samurai use?

They used the following: The longbow, the spear and naginata, tanegashima and cannon. Chain weapons, like the kusarigama. Japanese swords: Chokutō, curved tach and ultimately the katana. Smaller commonly known companion swords are the wakizashi and the tantō.