How long is the world record for holding your breath?

In 2012, German freediver Tom Sietas held his breath underwater for 22 minutes and 22 seconds, besting Dane Stig Severinsen's previous Guinness record by 22 seconds. (Guinness still lists Severinsen as the record holder, as he hyperventilated with oxygen before his attempt).