What is a serger vs sewing machine?

A serger/overlock machine is used to encase the seam allowance much like a zig-zag stitch but is more thorough and uses 3 and sometimes five different spools at the same time. It also has a knife mechanism in front of where the stitch is formed to trim the edge neatly. Commonly used on knits.