Who is saint brandon?

St. Brendan of Colfert was an Irish abbot who founded several monasteries, and is best renowned for his legendary journey to the Isle of the Blessed, which now bears his name. He's held as the patron saint of boatmen, mariners, travelers, elderly adventurers, and whales.