Why is the water is salty?

Water is salty because rivers and other bodies of water slowly erode rock causing salts and other minerals to enter the water system.

---

Rocks on land are the major source of salts dissolved in seawater. Rainwater that falls on land is slightly acidic, so it erodes rocks. This releases ions that are carried away to streams and rivers that eventually feed into the ocean.