What's the difference between exothermic and endothermic?

Chemical reactions that release energy are called exothermic. In exothermic reactions, more energy is released when the bonds are formed in the products than is used to break the bonds in the reactants. Chemical reactions that absorb (or use) energy are called endothermic.

---

Exothermic means generating internal heat and giving out to the environment. Mammals are exothermic. Endothermic means absorbing heat from the environment. Reptiles are Endothermic.