What's the second fastest thing on earth?

The fastest thing on earth is the X-15, a US Airforce jet that can reach speeds of about 4500 MPH. It is not equipped with guns as it flies almost 3 times faster than bullets. the second fastest thing on earth is the SR71 Blackbird, another supersonic jet that reaches over 2200 MPH.