What is golden syrup made from?

Golden syrup is a thick, smooth golden-colored syrup made from cane sugar that has a unique buttery scent and a light caramel flavor

---

Golden syrup, also known as light treacle in the U.K., is an inverted sugar syrup, made by either refining sugar or by adding acid to a sugar water solution. It has a beautiful amber color and a texture similar to honey.