Can you go to space without being an astronaut?

NASA says you have to get a former astronaut to chaperone you to the ISS. NASA is not trusting private citizens to travel to the International Space Station on their own, instead, it wants them to be chaperoned by experienced professionals, however if you have the money you can buy a ride to space