What does the saying the early bird gets the worm?

The early bird gets the worm means that there are limited opportunities and to not delay in taking advantage of them. This is based on nature. Early morning heavy dew or ground water can drive worms to the surface making them easy prey for birds but worms are not unlimited and will burrow back down