Where does tornadoes come from?

Tornadoes come from an unknown combination of temperature and moisture gradients, instability, lift, and vertical wind shear located around fronts, dry-lines or outflows. As we improve real-time 3D atmospheric measurements and modeling, we can understand where tornadoes come from.

---

Tornadoes come from the energy released in a thunderstorm. The most destructive and deadly tornadoes occur from super cells, which are rotating thunderstorms with a well-defined radar circulation called a mesocyclone.