What happened to napoleon's hand?

The answer is rooted in the gesture’s history. Napoleon, concealing a hand in one’s coat, has long signified gentlemanly restraint & often associated with nobility. In ancient Greece, famed orator Aeschines claimed that restricting the movement of one’s hand was the proper way to speak in public.