Give me a synopsis of world war one?

World War I began in July, 1914 and lasted until November, 1918. The assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria was the cause of the war. Germany, Austria-Hungary, Bulgaria and the Ottoman Empire fought against Great Britain, France, Russia, Italy, Romania, Canada, Japan and the US.