How fast does the world go?

The surface of the earth at the equator moves at a speed of 460 meters per second--or roughly 1,000 miles per hour. We are also moving around the Sun at the rate of 66,627 mph. Also, as part of the milky way galaxy, the earth is moving along at 1.3 million miles per hour.