What do yellow finches eat?

Goldfinches are granivores and will eat seeds from dandelions, grass, flower heads such as Black-Eyed Susans, and occasionally pine cones and leaves of certain plants. Finches also love black oil sunflower seed. It's high in fat content and is a healthy source of nutrition for them.