When was the city of pompeii discovered?

Pompeii was founded in the 7th century BCE, by Oscans. The city was wiped out in 79 CE, buried in ash from an eruption of nearby Mt. Vesuvius. It remained mostly buried until rediscovered in 1748, when Spanish military engineer Rocque Joaquin de Alcubierre made excavations at the site.