Why do they call a cocktail?

One theory comes from New Orleans, where an apothecary named Peychaud served a mixed brandy drink in a French eggcup. Eventually the drink was named coquetier, the French term for an eggcup. Peychaud's guests shortened the name to 'cocktay,' and eventually it became 'cocktail.'”