Why do moths exist?

Moths are a major part of our biodiversity and play vital roles in the ecosystem, affecting many other types of wildlife. Both adult moths and their caterpillars are food for a wide variety of wildlife, including other insects, spiders, frogs, toads, lizards, shrews, hedgehogs, bats and birds.

---

Moths benefit plants by pollinating flowers while feeding on their nectar, and so help in seed production.