What happened on june fourth nineteen eighty nine in china?

The Tiananmen Square protests were student-led demonstrations held in Tiananmen Square in Beijing during 1989. The protests started on 15 April and were forcibly suppressed on 4 June when the government declared martial law and sent the military to occupy central parts of Beijing.