What is popcorn snow?

Known by meteorologists as graupel, popcorn snow is precipitation that forms when supercooled droplets of water are collected and freeze on a falling snowflake forming a 2-5mm ball of time. It is also called soft hail or snow pellets. The term graupel is the German language word for sleet.